Early Childhood STEM Working Group releases Policy Report: Early STEM Matters: Providing High-Quality STEM Experiences for All Young Children

The Early Childhood STEM Working Group, a group of scholars, policymakers, curriculum developers, and educators from across the United States, has released a new policy report titled Early STEM Matters: Providing High-Quality STEM Experiences for All Young Children. The report describes four guiding principles and offers six actionable recommendations for educational leaders, policymakers at the local, state, and federal levels, researchers, and funders.     Early STEM Matters articulates an ambitious but achievable vision for the future of young children’s STEM education. It addresses the intersection of current policy discussions about early childhood education and STEM education. The goal of the report is to help guide and inform conversation and change at a critical point in public discourse about the need for high-quality early childhood education. The Early STEM Matters report is the result of the Working Group’s convenings over the course of two years, from 2014 through 2016.    A full copy of the report can be found on the Early Childhood STEM Working Group’s website: http://ecstem.uchicago.edu.   About the Early Childhood STEM Working Group  The Early Childhood STEM Working Group was convened by an organizing committee consisting of its members from the Early Math Collaborative at Erikson Institute and from UChicago STEM Education at the University of Chicago, with funding from a grant by the Searle Funds at the Chicago Community Trust. Members of the Working Group are: Barbara Bowman, Erikson Institute; Carol Brunson Day, National Association for the Education of Young Children; Jie-Qi Chen, Erikson Institute; Christine Cunningham, Museum of Science, Boston; Chip Donohue, Erikson Institute; Linda Espinosa, University of Missouri at Columbia; Martin Gartzman, University of Chicago; Daryl Greenfield, University of Miami; Deborah Leslie, University of Chicago; Susan Levine, University of Chicago; Jennifer McCray, Erikson Institute; Leona Schauble, Vanderbilt University; Elizabet Spaepen, University of Chicago; and Karen Worth, Wheelock College. The Early Childhood STEM Working Group was represented at the White House Early STEM Symposium in April 2016.    For more information, contact Debbie Leslie at the University of Chicago: daleslie@uchicago.edu or Jie-Qi Chen at Erikson Institute: jchen@erikson.edu.